• Fellow in drama, Manchester University 1973-74.
  • Lecturer in Performance Studies, Mancheter University. 1975-78/
  • Resident Director, Abbey Theatre, 1978-84.
  • He served as a member of the Irish Cultural Relations Committee (Department of Foreign Affairs) from 1996-2002.
  • He was a member of the board of Music Network (2000 – 2006), and a member of the Arts Council’s working group for Opera (2006).
  • In 2002 he was awarded an honorary doctorate by Trinity College Dublin in recognition of his contribution to Irish Theatre.
  • Adjunct Professor in Theatre Direction, UCD, 2004. In 2013 he was awarded an honorary doctorate by University College Dublin.